Alabama Fireworks Laws
Wedding sparklers are a great way to illuminate any wedding exit with flash and pizzazz. While our sparklers are fun and festive, it’s important to use them responsibility. Your health and safety is our highest priority and we always recommend following state fireworks rules and regulations in Alabama.
AGE OF PURCHASE: 16 years of age
LEGAL: Items that comply with regulations of the U.S. Consumer Protection Safety Commission (CPSC), Department of Transportation (DOT) definitions and trick noisemakers. Fireworks such as bottle rockets, firecrackers, Roman candles and sparklers are allowed.
ILLEGAL: M80’s, cherry bombs, silver salutes, and ground salute fireworks with more than two grains of explosives are prohibited.
SELLING PERIOD: June 20 through July 10 and December 15 through January 2. The sale of fireworks from tents or motor vehicles is illegal.
PENALTY: The sale, possession and handling of illegal fireworks is a Class A misdemeanor, carrying a fine between $100 and $1,000 and/or up to one year in jail.
Alabama Facts & Figures
Nickname: The Heart of Dixie
State Capital: Montgomery
Population: 4,903,185 (24th)
Largest Cities: Birmingham 209,403 Huntsville 200,574 Montgomery 198,525
Total Land Area: 52,420 sq. miles (30th)
Alabama sure does love the holidays. It became the first U.S. state to recognize Christmas as a legal holiday in 1836 – 34 years before the federal government declared December 25 as a public holiday.
New Orleans is known around the world for its Mardi Gras celebrations, but were not the first to partake in the festivities. That accolade goes to Mobile, which began celebrating Mardi Gras in 1702 after mystic societies called “krewes” held the gatherings.
The next time you turn on your cars’ windshield wipers, think Alabama. Mary Anderson, proud Alabamian, invented windshield wipers in 1903 after seeing drivers leaning out of their cars to wipe rain from the windows.