Mississippi Fireworks Laws
Wedding sparklers are a great way to illuminate any wedding exit with flash and pizzazz. While our sparklers are fun and festive, it’s important to use them responsibility. Your health and safety is our highest priority and we always recommend following state fireworks rules and regulations in Mississippi.
AGE OF PURCHASE: 12 years of age
LEGAL: Consumer fireworks as defined by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) containing two grams or less of explosive composition, including cone fountains, small Chinese crackers, small non-explosive Roman candles, rockets and non-explosive sparklers.
ILLEGAL: Cherry bombs, tubular salutes, repeating bombs, aerial bombs and torpedoes.
SELLING PERIOD: Fireworks can be purchased in Mississippi from June 15 – July 5 and December 5 – January 2.
PENALTY: Anyone in violation of Mississippi fireworks and explosive laws faces a fine of up to $1,000 and/or no more than a year in either county jail or state penitentiary.
Mississippi Facts & Figures
Nickname: The Magnolia State
State Capital: Jackson
Population: 2,976,149 (35th)
Largest Cities: Jackson 160,628 Gulfport 71,705 Southaven 55,780
Total Land Area: 48,432 sq. miles (32nd)
Root beer soda is ‘rooted’ in Mississippi. In 1898, Edward Barq concocted what would become the recipe of the popular Barq’s root beer drink, all from the confines of a small house in Biloxi, Mississippi.
Mississippi has more churches per capita than any other state in the country. Additionally, Mississippians go to church services more frequently than residents of any other state.
The concept of selling shoes by the pair in boxes originated at a shoe store in Vicksburg, Mississippi.