Virginia Fireworks Laws
Wedding sparklers are a great way to illuminate any wedding exit with flash and pizzazz. While our sparklers are fun and festive, it’s important to use them responsibly. Your health and safety is our highest priority and we always recommend following state fireworks rules and regulations in Virginia.
AGE OF PURCHASE: 18 years of age
LEGAL: Sparklers, fountains, pharaoh’s serpents, pinwheels and whirligigs.
ILLEGAL: Firecrackers, skyrockets, torpedoes and other fireworks that explode, travel laterally, rise into the air or fire projectiles into the sky.
SELLING PERIOD: June 1 through July 15
PENALTY: The sale, possession and handling of illegal fireworks in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of $2,500.
Virginia Facts & Figures
Nickname: Old Dominion
State Capital: Richmond
Population: 8,535,519 (12th)
Largest Cities: Virginia Beach 449,974 Chesapeake 244,835 Norfolk 242,742
Total Land Area: 42,775 sq. miles (35th)
Virginia used to be a much larger state. At the time of the Revolutionary War in 1775, Virginia encompassed most of Kentucky and West Virginia. Kentucky became its own state in 1792 and West Virginia seceded from the rest of Virginia.
The first woman-operated bank in the U.S. started in Richmond, Virginia. Maggie Lena Walker, a successful African American businesswoman, chartered St. Luke Penny Savings Bank in 1903.
There are no major professional sports teams, making Virginia the largest state without a major league sports franchise.