West Virginia Fireworks Laws
Wedding sparklers are a great way to illuminate any wedding exit with flash and pizzazz. While our sparklers are fun and festive, it’s important to use them responsibility. Your health and safety is our highest priority and we always recommend following state fireworks rules and regulations in West Virginia.
AGE OF PURCHASE: 18 years of age with a valid ID
LEGAL: Sparkling devices, including fountains, wire sparklers, trick noisemakers, smoke devices and snakes.
ILLEGAL: Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, Roman candles, bottle rockets, reloadable shells, missile-type rockets, helicopter and aerial spinners, multi-aerial mine and shell devices and aerial shell kits.
SELLING PERIOD: Year-Round
PENALTY: Anyone in violation of Maine fireworks laws faces a fine of $50 to $500.
West Virginia Facts & Figures
Nickname: The Mountain State
State Capital: Charleston
Population: 1,792,147 (39th)
Largest Cities: Charleston 46,536 Huntington 45,110 Morgantown 30,549
Total Land Area: 24,230 sq. miles (41th)
The first state sales tax in the country took effect in West Virginia on July 1, 1921.
At more than 3,000 feet long, the New River Gorge Bridge, located in Fayette County, is the longest steel-span bridge in the Western Hemisphere.
Billboards got their start in West Virginia. Outdoor advertising originated in Wheeling in 1908 when the Block Brothers Tobacco Company painted bridges and barns with the wording: “Treat Yourself to the Best, Chew Mail Pouch.”