Iowa Fireworks Laws
Wedding sparklers are a great way to illuminate any wedding exit with flash and pizzazz. While our sparklers are fun and festive, it’s important to use them responsibility. Your health and safety is our highest priority and we always recommend following state fireworks rules and regulations in Iowa.
AGE OF PURCHASE: 18 years of age
LEGAL: First-class consumer fireworks – aerial shell kits and reloadable tubes, chasers, helicopter and aerial spinners, firecrackers, mine and shell devices, missile-type rockets, Roman candles, sky rockets and bottle rockets and multiple tube devices. Second-class consumer fireworks – cone fountains, cylindrical fountains, flitter sparklers, grand and hand-held sparkling devices, including multiple tube ground and hand-held devices, ground spinners, illuminating torches, toy smoke devices that are not classified as novelties pursuant to APA 87-1, Section 3.2, wheels and wire or dipped sparklers.
ILLEGAL: None are specifically prohibited.
SELLING PERIOD: June 1 through July 8 in permanent buildings and June 13 to July 8 in tents and other temporary structures.
PENALTY: Anyone who’s found guilty violating fireworks laws in Iowa can face fines between $100 to $650, depending on the municipality.
Iowa Facts & Figures
Nickname: The Hawkeye State
State Capital: Topeka
Population: 3,155,070 (32nd)
Largest Cities: Des Moines 214,237 Cedar Rapids 133,562 Davenport 101,590
Total Land Area: 56,273 sq. miles (26th)
There are more pigs than people in Iowa. In fact, the state’s hog population was a little over 21 million, compared to three million residents.
Iowa is home to the world’s largest bike touring event. RAGBRAI, a weeklong event, takes thousands of cyclists on a journey across the state.
More than 25 percent of the state’s electricity comes from wind power. That’s the result of more than 3,200 wind turbines, the highest concentration in the country.